UKI Ben Sturgeon Award

 UKI home page 

Benefits of membership 

Committee list 

Forthcoming meetings

Past meetings 

Ben Sturgeon Award 

Rank Prize Fund 

UK&I Membership

Free Student Membership

Chapter Publications

Ben Sturgeon Award

The Ben Sturgeon Award is made annually by the Society for Information Display, to individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to the development of displays. Since the inauguration of the award, many recipients have made advances in liquid crystal displays. Ben Sturgeon worked in this area, but recently, new display technologies have developed and it is intended to make the award in the future to a wider scope of technologies. The criterion will remain to make the award to those young scientists and engineers who have made a significant contribution to the field of displays.  Since this is an award made by the UK & Ireland Chapter of the SID, it is expected that a significant fraction (but not necessarily all) of the work will have taken place in the UK or Ireland.     

Previous winners:  2015  2014,  2013,  2012,  2011,   2010,   2009,  2008,  2007,  2006,  2005,    2004


Eligibility for the Award                                                                                                                                                

1.      Young Scientists or Engineers (under 40)                                                                                                                    

2.      Must  have made significant contributions to the displays field over the past 10 years                                                     

The Nominations                                                                                                                                                              

1.      Letter of nomination clearly setting out the value of the nominee's work.                                                                         

2.      Additional letters of support are helpful but not essential                                                                                                

3.      CV for the nominee                                                                                                                                                     

4.      Publications (papers and patents) list                                                                                                                          

5.       Copies of key papers                                                                                                                                                

6.      Nominations should be sent by email to Dr Ben Broughton (                                                                          


Dr Ben Sturgeon

The Ben Sturgeon Award was established at the end of 1991 by the UK & Ireland Chapter of SID in conjunction with the British Liquid Crystal Society for work related to displays carried out by a young person in the UK.  The award was named after Dr Ben Sturgeon, Research and Development Director of BDH, who died in September 1990 aged 64.   In about 1970,  BDH was invited to join with Hull University to undertake work on liquid-crystal materials.  Under his leadership, BDH became the world’s largest producer of liquid-crystal materials.  This work was recognised by a Queen’s Award for Technological Advancement made to BDH, Hull University and RSRE Malvern in 1979.  A second award was made to BDH, under its new name Merck Ltd and DRA Malvern (formerly RSRE).  Ben Sturgeon continued his work on liquid crystals until his retirement.