## **WINNER OF THE BEN STURGEON AWARD 2014**

The Ben Sturgeon Award for 2014 has been won by Dr Steve Morris, University of Oxford. The award was presented by the Chapter Director, Dr Sally Day at the one-day meeting

on Display Interfaces and chapter AGM, held at Sharp Laboratories of Europe on Wednesday 22<sup>nd</sup> April 2015.

During the conference, Dr Morris was invited to present a paper, based on his work for the award entitled 'L C Optics'.

Dr Morris was awarded an MPhys with Space Science from the University of Southampton in the year 2000. He remained at the University for two years as an Experimental Officer, undertaking a project on the construction of a dynamic, light-scattering experiment. Then in 2002, he commenced research at Wolfson College, University of Oxford for his PhD on, 'Liquid



from Dr Sally Day, Chapter Director
Photo: John Mansell

crystals for linear and non-linear photonics applications'. His supervisor was Professor Coles. Following his PhD, he became a university lecturer and a Royal Society University Research Fellow.

Return: http://www.sid.org/Chapters/uki/UKIBenSturgeonAward.aspx